Health Science dean search |…

Photo by Kathy F. Atkinson

Four candidates for the position of dean of the University of Delaware College of Health Sciences will visit the campus and participate in forums open to the University community beginning Thursday, June 23.

Each presentation will be held from 9:30-10:45 a.m., with forums on Thursday and Friday, June 23 and 24, scheduled in the Audion of the Tower at STAR, and forums on Monday and Tuesday, June 27 and 28, scheduled in the auditorium of the Bob Carpenter Center. Each program also will be streamed live. Details will be available on the search website.

At these forums, each candidate will present their vision for the college, followed by a question-and-answer session.

Biographical information about each candidate will be available to members of the UD community 48 hours in advance of their presentation on the search website.

Reporting directly to the provost, the dean is a key member of the University’s senior administrative team and is responsible for leadership of the college, including the development, operation and sustained excellence of all academic programs across its schools, departments and interdisciplinary centers and institutes.

The search advisory committee is being chaired by Levi Thompson, dean of the College of Engineering and Elizabeth Inez Kelly Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, and Darcy Reisman, chair and professor of the Department of Physical Therapy.

Members of the committee are Leslie Allshouse, vice chair and senior instructor in the Department of Medical and Molecular Sciences and director of the Medical Laboratory Sciences Program; Jed Castellucci, chief clinical operating officer and clinic director in the College of Health Sciences Dean’s Office; Matthew Cohen, assistant professor in the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders; Yendelela Cuffee, assistant professor the Epidemiology Program; Heiddy DiGregorio, assistant professor and director of Simulation and Interprofessional Education in the School of Nursing; David Edwards, professor in the Department of Kinesiology and Applied Physiology; Alan Fox, professor in the Department of Philosophy; Joe Fox, professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry and the Department of Materials Science and Engineering; Nancy Getchell, professor in the Department of Kinesiology and Applied Physiology, and the Department of Women and Gender Studies and president-elect of the Faculty Senate; Kristi Kiick, chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering, Blue and Gold Distinguished Professor of Materials Science and professor in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Chrissi Rawak, director of Intercollegiate Athletics and Recreation; Jillian Trabulsi, chair and associate professor in the Department of Behavioral Health and Nutrition and associate professor in the Department of Kinesiology and Applied Physiology; Eric Wommack, deputy dean of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources and professor in the Department of Biological Sciences and in the College of Earth, Ocean and Environment; and Regina Wright, associate dean for diversity and inclusion in the College of Health Sciences and professor in the School of Nursing.

Assisting with the search is the consulting firm of Education Executives, LLC, which specializes in searches for higher education leadership.

Last year, Kathy Matt, who has served as dean of the college since 2009, announced her plans to retire after the 2021-22 academic year.

You may also like

You May Also Like